separator up

ISOTT 2018 countdown: 71 days

< May 2018 >
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
separator down
ISOTT Home Page > News > News and updates

ISOTT 2017, Halle, Germany

2017-11-01 18:35

From August 19th to 23rd, 2017 the 45th Annual Meeting of the International Society on Oxygen Transport to Tissue (ISOTT 2017) was hosted at the Martin Luther University (MLU) in Halle/Saale, Germany.


The president of ISOTT, Oliver Thews, who organized the meeting together with his team could welcome 136 participants in the historical lecture hall the so called "Löwengebäude" ("Lions Building") of the University of Halle, which was founded in 1694. The participants came from 15 different countries all over the world, most of them accounted for Germany (31), Japan (29), USA (18), UK (13) and Korea (12).


In the scientific part of the meeting a broad spectrum of aspects of oxygen transport to tissue was addressed. Major topics of the meetings were Near-Infrared-Spectroscopy (technical aspects as well as many different applications), the role of oxygen and hypoxia in oncology and radio-biology, oxygen supply to the brain under normal and during different pathological conditions, the role of oxygen in the clinical setting (e.g. in critical care medicine), the process of oxygen diffusion through membranes, oxidative stress, oxygen transport in the blood, mitochondrial function and the biology of the primo vascular system. In total the scientific program included 63 oral and 42 poster presentations. During the poster sessions each presenter gave a short oral overview (Poster Flash presentation) in order to inform the audience on the topic of the poster and to motivate to visit it during the subsequent poster viewing. In addition, 7 keynote talks were provided by Dirk Vordermark (University of Halle, Germany), Martin Wolf (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Gillian M. Tozer (University of Sheffield, UK), Joseph LaManna (Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, USA), Karsten Mäder (University of Halle, Germany), Agnes Görlach (German Heart Center, Munich, Germany) and Guiseppe Cicco (University of Bari, Italy).


The meeting was opened on Saturday August 19th, 2017 with a welcome note by Prof. Michael Gekle, Dean of the Medical Faculty, and Dr. P. Sachse representing the City of Halle. During the opening ceremony Joost van Dongen (RWTH Aachen University, Germany) provided in his talk "Making sense of oxygen sensing in plants" an interesting overview on the role oxygen in other biological fields besides the human body. The opening ended with a "Get Together" party which was sponsored by the City of Halle. Besides the City of Halle, the conference was also generously supported by the Martin Luther University Halle, the Medical Faculty of the MLU, Hamamatsu Photonics and Oxford Optronix.


In the good tradition of ISOTT meetings ISOTT 2017 offered (besides the scientific program) different social evening events during which the participants could have fruitful discussions in a relaxed atmosphere. On Sunday evening the participants visited a local microbrewery ("Hallesches Brauhaus") where they tasted different beer specialties and had traditional food in a rustic environment close to the brewing copper. On Monday evening the participants learnt in the saline museum of how Halle became a prosperous city from making salt. A member of the "Halloren" brotherhood (the historical salter of Halle) explained the process of salt making and the participants could ladle their own salt from the brine.


The Award Ceremony and Banquet concluded the meeting on Wednesday evening in the German National Academy of Sciences "Leopoldina". In the first part the ISOTT scientific awards were presented. The Melvin H. Knisely Award was presented to Felix Scholkmann (Switzerland), the Dietrich W. Lübbers Award to Ben Jones (UK) and the Britton Chance Award to Helene Isler (Switzerland). In addition, 10 Duane Bruley Travel Awards were presented to junior scientists: Luca Giannoni (UK), Jingjing Jiang (Switzerland), Alexander Kalyanov (Switzerland), Zuzana Kovacsova (UK), Nassim Nasseri (Switzerland), Maheen Faisal Siddiqui (UK), Shun Takagi (Japan), Yusuke Tsuruno (Japan), Lina Xu (Germany) and Hamoon Zohdi (Switzerland).


Awardees of ISOTT 2017 at the Award Ceremony
Awardees of ISOTT 2017 at the Award Ceremony

The Award Ceremony ended with passing the banner of the annual ISOTT meeting to the next ISOTT presidents, Pan Dong Ryu and Kyung A. Kang, who will organize the 46th Annual Meeting in 2018 in Seoul, Korea. After the Award Ceremony the evening ended with the banquet where the participants enjoyed food and drinks.


The ISOTT 2017 president would like to acknowledge earnestly the great work done by his conference team Anne Riemann, Sarah Reime and Verena Haupt which have made the conference smooth and successful. We hope that all participants had a fruitful and enjoyable time in the middle of Germany.

Go back

In Retrospect .... May 2018

There are no news items for this period.